Sunsari District is one of 14 districts in Province No. 1 of Nepal. The district is located in the eastern part of the Outer Terai and covers an area of 1,257 km2 (485 sq mi). According to the 2011 Nepal census, the population was 763,487. The district headquarters is located in Inaruwa.

The area was originally part of Morang District but became its own district in 1962 when Nepal was divided into 14 zones and 75 districts. Major cities in Sunsari district are Inaruwa, Itahari, Jhumka and Dharan, and Duhabi. Some religious places of this district are Budha Subba Temple, Ramdhuni, Chataradham, Baraha Kshetra, Bishnupaduka, Dantakali, and Pindeshor Babadham.

Climate Zone Elevation Range % of Area
Lower Tropical below 300 meters (1,000 ft) 86.6%
Upper Tropical 300 to 1,000 meters
1,000 to 3,300 ft.
Subtropical 1,000 to 2,000 meters
3,300 to 6,600 ft.


At the time of the 2011 Nepal census, this District had a population of 763,487. Of these, 29.1% spoke Nepali, 28.3% Maithili, 11.6% Tharu, 9.6% Urdu, 2.8% Uranw/Urau, 2.7% Limbu, 2.1% Newari, 1.8% Tamang, 1.6% Bantawa, 1.3% Magar, 0.7% Chamling, 0.6% Bhojpuri, 0.6% Bengali and 0.6% Gurung as heir first language.

45.2% of the population in the district spoke Nepali, 5.9% Maithili, 2.1% Hindi and 1.6% Tharu as their second language.

The district consists of two Sub-metropolitan Cities, four urban municipalities and six rural municipalities. These are as follows:

  1. Itahari Sub Metropolitan City
  2. Dharan Sub Metropolitan City
  3. Inaruwa Municipality
  4. Duhabi Municipality
  5. Ramdhuni Municipality
  6. Barahachhetra Municipality
  7. Koshi Rural Municipality
  8. Gadhi Rural Municipality
  9. Barju Rural Municipality
  10. Bhokraha Narashingh Rural Municipality
  11. Harinagara Rural Municipality
  12. Dewanganj Rural Municipality

Inaruwa: The Headquarters of Sunsari

Inaruwa is a municipality and headquarters of Sunsari District located 25 km (16 mi) east of the Koshi Barrage and 18.6 km (11.6 mi) east of Koshi Tappu Wildlife Reserve in Province No. 1, Nepal. It covers an area of 77.92 km2 (30.09 sq mi).

In 2011, it had a population of 28,923 people in 6,199 households. It merged with the adjoining villages Babiya, Jalpapur, and Madhesa to become a united town headquarter. It is the centre of the District Police Headquarters and the District Development Office. Currently, it has a population of 63,593 people.

Inaruwa has 31 schools, of which 10 are public and 21 are private. Educational institutions are available for playgroup, primary, secondary and higher education. Inaruwa lies on the Mahendra Highway and acts as a hub with buses providing public transport between surrounding villages and the cities of Itahari and Biratnagar. The nearest airport is Biratnagar Airport, 25.4 km (15.8 mi) away.

You may also like Saptari

Read about the Latest News, about Nepal Reviews, Gadgets, How-to, Lifestyle, Entertainment, Lyrics, etc. on the All Info Nepal website, and don’t forget to follow us on FacebookTwitterInstagramLinkedin.

9 thoughts on “Sunsari || Located in Eastern Part of Outer Terai”
  1. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It
    really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back
    and help others like you helped me.

  2. For the reason that the admin of this web site is working, no uncertainty very rapidly it will be
    renowned, due to its quality contents.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.