Salyan || A District Known for its Hindu Temples


Salyan District is a part of Karnali province. It is one of the seventy-seven districts of Nepal. It covers an area of 1,462 km2 with a population of 213,500 in 2001 and 241,716 in 2011.

Salyan derives from the Nepali word sallo which means pine tree or conifer. The name of administrative district is Salyan oR Salyan Khalanga. Today it is part of Shaarada Municipality.

The district is famous for its Hindu temples. It includes Shiva temples in Chhayachhetra and Laxmipur. It also includes the Devi temple at Khairabang in Shaarada municipality, one of nine in Nepal.

Salyan was one of the Baise Rajya, a confederation of 22 petty kingdoms in the Karnali (Ghagra) region. About 1760 AD all these kingdoms were annexed by the Shah Dynasty during the unification of Nepal.

Although Salyan is considered a hilly district, its southwest salient is actually outside the Pahari-inhabited hill region. In the lower Siwalik Hills that is more an extension of the Terai.

The Babai River flows through the southwestern Siwaliks section after draining Dang Valley. A tributary Sharad Khola drains the eastern half of Salyan’s hill region—including the district centre. Then exits these hills by cutting through the Mahabharat Range to its confluence with the Babai.

At the time of the 2011 Nepal census, it had a population of 242,444. Out of which, 99.4% speak Nepali as their first language.

You may also like Banke || A district which has Bihari Temple

14 thoughts on “Salyan || A District Known for its Hindu Temples”
  1. Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to check it out.

    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting
    this to my followers! Excellent blog and outstanding design and style.

  2. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a
    daily basis. It will always be exciting to read through content from other writers
    and practice something from other web sites.

  3. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The text in your article seem to be running off the screen in Safari.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I
    thought I’d post to let you know. The layout look great though!

    Hope you get the problem resolved soon. Thanks

  4. Great post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this
    topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further.
    Many thanks!

  5. Admiring the hard work you put into your blog and in depth information you provide.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that
    isn’t the same outdated rehashed information. Excellent read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.
    quest bars quest bars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.