Wednesday, January 27, 2021
Home Nepal Province 6

Province 6

Karnali Pradesh (Nepali: कर्णाली प्रदेश) is one of the seven federal provinces of Nepal formed by the new constitution which was adopted on 20 September 2015. The total area of the province is 27,984 square kilometers (10,805 sq mi), making it the largest province in Nepal. According to the 2011 Nepal census, the population of the province was 1,570,418, making it the least populous province in Nepal. It borders the Tibet Autonomous Region of China to the north, Gandaki Pradesh to the east, Sudurpashchim Pradesh to the west, and Province No. 5 to the south. Birendranagar with a population of 47,914 is both the province’s capital and largest city.

The Chief Judge of the Surkhet High Court is the head of the judiciary. The present Governor, Chief Minister, and Chief Judge are Govindra Prasad Kaulani, Mahendra Bahadur Shahi, and Hari Kumar Pokharel respectively. The province has 40 provincial assembly constituencies,12 House of Representative constituencies, and eight National Assembly seats.