Category: Class B

A development bank is a financial organization engaged in the promotion of industry, agriculture and other key sectors.  Development banks in Nepal are ‘ B’ type of financial Institutions. On the basis of geographical coverage and activity level, the development banks are three types and these are:

  1. 1-3 districts type
  2. 4-10 districts type
  3. National type

Firstly, development Banks primarily aim to accelerate the rate of growth. But, the main objective of these banks is to serve the public interest rather than earning profits. It is a multipurpose financial institution. After all a development bank does not accept deposits from the public like commercial Banks and other financial institutions that entirely depend upon saving mobilization.

Moreover, as per the latest data from Nepal Rastra Bank, at present, there are 32 Development Banks in Nepal.

Functions of Development Banks:

Above all, the development banks have been started with the motive of increasing the pace of industrialization. Similarly, traditional financial institutions could not take up this challenge because of their limitations. In addition, to help all round industrialization development banks were made multipurpose institutions. Besides financing, they were assigned promotional work also.

Therefore, the list of the class ‘B ‘ banks currently providing banking services in Nepal along with their head offices and operation date are listed below:


S. No Name Operation Date Head Office       
01 Deva Bikas Bank Ltd. 2015/7/10  Laldarbar, Kathmandu 
02 Gandaki Bikas Bank Ltd. 2017/7/5  Pokhara, Kaski 
03 Garima Bikash Bank Ltd. 2016/9/20  Lazimpat, Kathmandu
04 Jyoti Bikash Bank Ltd. 2016/8/12 


Kamaladi, Kathmandu
05 Kailash Bikash Bank 2016/4/4  New plaza, Kathmandu
06 Kamana Sewa Bikas Bank Ltd. 2017/8/4  Srijana Chowk,
07 Mahalaxmi Bikas Bank  2017/7/2  Darbarmarga, Kathmandu
08 Muktinath Bikas Bank Ltd. 2007/01/03  Kamaladi, Kathmandu 
09 Om Development Bank Ltd. 2017/6/16  Chipledhunga, Pokhara 
10 Shangri – la development Bank Ltd. 2014/ 07/13 Baluwatar, Kathmandu 
11. Lumbini Bikas Bank Ltd. 2017/7/9  Dilibazar, Kathmandu 


Ten District Development Bank

S.No Name Operation Date Head Office
01. Shine Resunga Development Bank Ltd. 2013/3/17  Butwal, Rupandehi


Three district Development Bank

S. NO Name Operation Date Head Office
01. Bhargav Bikas Bank Ltd. 2007/08/30  Nepalgunj, Banke 
02. Corporate Development Bank Ltd. 2007/11/07  Birgunj, Parsa 
03. Excel Development Bank Ltd. 2005/07/21  Birtamod, Jhapa 
04. Green Development Bank Ltd. 2013/8/25  Hari Shankar Road, Baglung 
05. Kanchan development bank Ltd. 2009/09/19  Vimdatta, Kanchanpur 
06. Kankai Bikas Bank Ltd. 2007/05/03  Damak, Jhapa 
07 Karnali Bikash Bank Ltd. 2004/02/18  Nepalgunj, Banke 
08  Mission Development Bank Ltd. 2010/06/15  Butwal, Rupandehi 
09 Miteri Development Bank ltd.  2006/10/13  Dharan, Sunsari 
10. Nepal Community development Bank Ltd. 2010/11/03  Butwal, Rupandehi 
11. Purnima Bikas Bank Ltd.  2008/05/20  Siddharthanagar, Rupandehi 
12. Sahayogi Bikas Bank Ltd. 2003/10/23  Janakpurdham, Dhanusa 
13. Sajha Bikas Bank Ltd.  Dhangadi, Kailali 
14. Saptakoshi Development Bank Ltd. 2012/10/02  Tankisinuwari, Morang 
15. Sindhu Bikas Bank Ltd. 2010/09/09  Barhabise, Sindhupalchowk 
16. Tinau Bikas Bank Ltd. 2006/11/01  Butwal, Rupandehi 
17. Western Development Bank Ltd. 2017/10/15  Ghorahi, Dang 



S.No Name Operation Date Head Office
01 Hamro Bikas Bank Ltd. 2009/04/19  Butter Bazzar, Nuwakot 
02 Kabeli Bikas Bank Ltd. 2007/12/16  Dhankuta, Dhankuta 
03 Mount Makalu Development Bank Ltd. Basantapur, Terathum 
04 Sahara Bikash Bank Ltd. 2010/10/27  Malangwa, Sarlahi